May the 4th Be With You

thrawnYou may have already seen the movies, but did you know that there are also several novels set in the Star Wars universe? Perfect for fans of the films, these stories delve into the details of that galaxy far, far away otherwise excluded on the big screen. May the “Force” be with you as you decide which one of these titles to explore first:

Star Wars: Thrawn by Timothy Zahn – A stand-alone novel in the Star Wars Legends series traces the origin story of fan-favorite character Grand Admiral Thrawn and the events that established him as one of the franchise’s most iconic villains.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story by Alexander Freed – An official novelization of the new film by the same name, this story is set prior to the events of “Star Wars: A New Hope” and follows a band of rebels on a daring mission to steal the Death Star plans.

Star Wars: Aftermath by Chuck Wendig – The first in a trilogy of novels, Aftermath is a story bridging the period between “Return of the Jedi” and “The Force Awakens” and follows the efforts of the Rebel Alliance to defeat the fracturing forces of a desperate Empire.

Star Wars: Bloodline by Claudia Gray – In a prequel to “Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” set roughly six years before the events of the film, Leia worries about threats to the New Republic, as senators call for the election of a powerful First Senator and a new enemy emerges.

Star Wars: Lords of the Sith by Paul S. Kemp – A tale set during the partnership between Darth Vader and Emperor Palpatine finds them negotiating a sensitive political treaty that is challenged by an insurgent uprising on an inhospitable planet where the pair are forced to overcome mutual distrust in order to survive.

Star Wars: Heir to the Jedi by Kevin Hearne – Luke Skywalker takes on a high-stakes espionage operation to rescue a brilliant alien cryptographer sympathetic to the rebel cause, a mission that will push his abilities as a Rebel fighter and would-be Jedi to the limit.

Book of Sith: Secrets From the Dark Side by Daniel Wallace – Collects the five remaining chronicles of the Sith lords, detailing how each lord rose to power and explaining the philosophies and methods behind the dark side of the Force.

Star Wars: Kenobi by John Jackson Miller – An original tale set between the events of “Revenge of the Sith” and “A New Hope” finds an exiled Obi-Wan Kenobi working to hide his Jedi powers and establish an alternate identity for himself as an eccentric hermit while protecting an infant Luke Skywalker and aiding the residents of Tatooine.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s