“I am Malala” and Books Written by Other Nobel Peace Prize Winners

"I am Malala" book cover.

You may have heard that the Nobel Peace Prize for 2014 was awarded earlier this month to Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi. Both laureates have selflessly fought for the right for all children to have an education. In her book, “I am Malala: The Girl Who Stood up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban,” Yousafzai describes growing up in Swat Valley while under Taliban control. In the face of terrorism she fought for her right to be educated, even after surviving an assassination attempt.

Yousafzai’s book can be borrowed from JMRL, along with these titles written by past Nobel Peace Prize winners:

Mighty Be Our Powers: How Sisterhood, Prayer, and Sex Changed a Nation at War by Leymah Gbowee (2011 winner) – Recounts the experiences of the Liberian activist, who is a Nobel Peace Prize winner, as she discusses how she united Christian and Muslim women to campaign for an end to war in her nation.

The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream by Barack Obama (2009 winner) – The junior senator from Illinois discusses how to transform U.S. politics, calling for a return to America’s original ideals and revealing how they can address such issues as globalization and the function of religion in public life.

The Assault on Reason by Al Gore (2007 winner) – An analysis of the consequences of the Bush administration’s fear, secrecy, and faith-based initiatives explains how the administration has dangerously compromised America’s capacity for addressing long-term challenges.

Creating a World Without Poverty: Social Business and the Future of Capitalism by Muhammad Yunus (2006 winner) – The author describes his vision for an innovative business model that would combine the power of free markets with a quest for a more humane, egalitarian world that could help alleviate world poverty, inequality, and other social problems.

Replenishing the Earth: Spiritual Values for Healing Ourselves and the World by Wangari Maathai (2004 winner) – An impassioned call to heal the wounds of our planet and ourselves through the tenets of our spiritual traditions draws inspiration from many faiths, celebrating and renewing their mandates to “repair the world.”

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s